Giving Yourself a Moment To Breathe

This weekend I went to a yoga class for the first time in about six months. As I sat there on my mat breathing deeply with about 30 other yogis I suddenly remembered how much I enjoy having the chance to unwind.

As a designer and a freelancer I find myself rarely stopping or taking a break. In the freelance world every moment that you are not working is a dollar lost. There are no sick days, no paid vacations, and I often find myself trying to do random things that feel like work even when I don’t have work to do (yes sometimes even cleaning) just so I don’t loose momentum.

So last week when I wrapped up the 2nd of my 3 current projects, I kept working on personal projects. Things like going through my Grandparents papers, working on making Christmas gifts, doing volunteer work for my alma mater, and by Friday I was really tired.

Then Saturday as I sat on my mat and reconnected with the feeling of being still, I remembered how important it is to give yourself a break, take a deep breath and let yourself reconnect to the things going on in the world that don’t have to do with work. And it is these moments of stillness that allows us to rejuvenate and get ready for the next design challenge.

Leave a comment