Using Old Children’s Books for Inspiration

This past week/weekend I was hard at work casting my new show East of the Sun, West of the Moon and gathering inspiration for the design. The show is going to be set in Central Park, and the story is a fairy tale. I started looking to children’s book illustrators for inspiration in designing the setting. Here are some of my favorites!

Bluebeard By Arthur Rackham
C
Cinderella By Arthur Rackham - Image provided by SurLaLune Fairy Tales
Beauty and The Beast Castle by Edmund Dulac - Image provided by SurLaLune Fairy TalesThe Sleeping Beauty by Kay Nielsen -Image provided by SurLaLune Fairy Tales
The Sleeping Beauty by Kay Nielsen -Image provided by SurLaLune Fairy Tales

If you are interested in seeing more of these and reading variations on the more well-known Fairy Tales, you should check out Sur La Lune’s Website here. For more info about my project you can check out our kickstarter site here.